School Director Recognition Month

Bensalem school directors volunteer, on average, 20 hours a month to help run the schools in our community. The school board makes difficult decisions for the betterment of our students. They vote on multi-million dollar budgets and are charged with policy making, planning, goal setting, and the care of facilities, labor relations, taxation, and responsible funding. These dedicated volunteers reside in our community. They are our neighbors, friends, community leaders, parents at your school, and engaged senior citizens.

During this month of recognition, please take a moment and show your gratitude for school directors’ time, dedication, and effort year-round. The job they do is necessary to ensure our schools remain a pathway to a promising future. Thank them for advocating on behalf of our collective interest, and most importantly, for making the success of our children their priority.

Bensalem's school directors oversee a $156.7 million-dollar budget providing a quality education for the more than 6,400 students in nine schools staffed by 473 teachers, 56 administrative employees, and 444 full and part-time support personnel. They advocate an education system that is prepared to meet the extraordinary needs of more highly skilled jobs and new career opportunities. They set high standards of performance and accountability, offer new choices and options for parents and students, offer flexibility in regulation and service delivery, and work to ensure adequate funding and broad community engagement.  

The locally elected volunteer public servants who contribute to keeping the public school system strong and effective in Bensalem Township are: Kim J. Rivera, President; Heather D. Nicholas, Vice President; Michelle Benitez; Marc Cohen; Stephanie A. G. Ferrandez, Esq.; Rachel Fingles, Esq.; Eric Price; Heather Snyder; and Vanessa Woods.

Pictured left to right - Back Standing: Heather Snyder, Rachel Fingles, Eric Price, Marc Cohen, Heather D. Nicholas (Vice President), Vanessa Woods, Michelle Benitez, Stephanie A. G. Ferrandez, Susan M. Harder (Secretary)

Sitting: Kathleen Leon (Assistant to the Superintendent), Dr. Samuel Lee (District Superintendent), Kim J. Rivera (President), Thomas J. Profy. III (Solicitor)